Reviews

“Awesome Tour”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff was awesome!! Not only did he know his history but he was personal! A perfect way to start your day. Truly Charleston in a nutshell????.
November 2015


“Outstanding Walking Tour”

5 of 5 stars
Our recent 2-hour walking tour of Charleston was outstanding. Our guide, Jeff, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. He was a wealth of information about the history and architecture of the city overall, and of individual sites within the city. Jeff's itinerary is designed to hit all the top spots within a fairy short period of time. Larry
November 2015


“Great way to see Charleston”

5 of 5 stars
We went on 2 tours in one day - the Civil War Tour and the evening Candlelight tour. Jeff was a wonderful and knowledgeable host. We had a great time and he made us feel as though we were actually there and you could picture what it must have been like. It was great to walk around the streets and be part of this versus on a bus or vehicle. Highly recommend
November 2015


“Best start to a new city”

5 of 5 stars
Guide Jeff Zimmerman did a fantastic job of introducing us to Charleston, giving us the history on a very enjoyable walking tour and providing details of dates, laces, people and events of the history of the city. Knowledgeable and entertaining...highly recommended. A lot of information for the fee he charges.
October 2015


“Jeff is the best”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff was so knowledgeable about Charleston and its history and his presentation was outstanding. He was extremely helpful and patient to all of our questions about the history, people and overall uniqueness of the Charleston area. There is so much history that it takes someone like Jeff, with a love of the area to add life to something that makes it fun to be there. I don’t think we would have learned or our enjoyed ourselves as much without this type of introduction to the community.
October 2015


“Charleston in a Nutshell Walking Tour”

5 of 5 stars
This is a no-brainer! Jeff is extremely knowledgeable and insightful with his Charleston tour. I did several other tours in Charleston and Savannah and I thought he was the best!
October 2015


“walk in history”

5 of 5 stars
Our guide showed promptly on time, a good Southern trait. The number of people on the trip was manageable. Guide was a long time local to the area and it showed.
Guide "Jeff" was excellent and truly enjoyed what he does and sharing his knowledge.
October 2015


“An excellent way to see Charleston”

5 of 5 stars
We had a great time walking around Charleston and seeing the city at a slow pace. Our tour guide, Jeff, as full of interesting information and always open to questions. His information included architecture, history and culture including interesting individuals and families. After the tour he recommended several restaurants in close proximity where we could enjoy lunch. I would highly recommend Jeff and this tour if you ever visit Charleston. It was my first time but it won't be my last!
October 2015


“Great Twilight tour”

5 of 5 stars
Having a tour with Jeff was so interesting. He is very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. We learned a lot about people and the history of the buildings.
October 2015


“Jeff is so knowledgeable!”

5 of 5 stars
This was a very comprehensive and interesting walking tour. Jeff knows everything there is to know about Charleston architecture, history, even botany! We loved it. If you only do one walking tour in Charleston, make it this one.
October 2015


“Informative and well-paced”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff was a great tour guide and was very knowledgable about all things Charleston. We went on the walking tour in a group of parents and adult children. Two hours was the perfect amount of time and I felt like I got an adequate sense of the history, architecture, flora, and fauna of the city. We used a living social deal but would have definitely paid full price. Highly recommend.
October 2015


“Twilight tour ... Exceptionally interesting”

5 of 5 stars
Great Walking tour ... Interesting and very informative ..... Really feel like I saw and appreciate the area .... Was my choice of sensible rather than ghost tour .... Very good option ...
September 2015


“Highly recommend this walking tour!

5 of 5 stars
My husband and I joined Jeff for the candlelight walking tour on our recent visit. We had already taken a narrated driving tour, which was excellent in its own right, but we enjoyed Jeff's even more! He brings Charleston's history alive with wit and charm. He is very knowledgeable about the city and is very helpful answering even very practical questions about where to eat and how to get from here to there! You will come to see Charleston from the ground up and will love it. This tour is especially enjoyable if you have a love for architecture, but this aspect doesn't overpower all that you hear and learn along the way. We highly recommend this tour!
September 2015


“This walking tour is a must!”

5 of 5 stars
My boyfriend and I went on a tour with Jeff and had a great time. He is very knowledgeable and kind. He took the time to share his knowledge with us, even though we ran a little bit over. He also showed concern for our well being in summer heat. We learned a lot from Jeff, and I was born here! Jeff's walking tour is highly recommended, especially if you like history.
September 2015


“Jeff is awesome!”

5 of 5 stars
My husband and I took the candlelight tour and had the best time! Jeff is a great tour guide. In fact, on the four other tours we took on vacation, we rated each guide against Jeff! He is extremely knowledgeable about the history and culture of Charleston. Our group asked quite a few questions and he always knew the answer. He was personable and engaging and even threw in some recommendations for good restaurants. We received this great lesson on Charleston and it didn't feel like school at all. I wish he has taught my history classes in high school! We were seriously so impressed and had such a good time. We had a Groupon for the tour, but it would have been well worth the full price. Just be aware that the tour time on the website may not be the tour time (it said something like 6, but our tour was at 7:30) so if you are planning several things for one night, make sure you get this tour booked and work around it. When you call to reserve your spot, he very clearly tells you the time and location and even gave us directions to the closest parking garage and walking directions from it.
September 2015


“Very interesting and knowledgeable about Charleston...loved it!”

5 of 5 stars
My friend and I really loved the walk around Charleston...he knows so much about the area, and showed us the nuances of the area.
September 2015


“Must see and do”

5 of 5 stars
we had a private tour with Jeff. He was very knowledgeable and very obvious that he loves the city.. it was a hot day but the tour was amazing. Jeff guided us through Charleston in a nut shell with ease and valuable information. Very enjoyable tour and worthwhile if you are visiting. My favorite was the courtyards in the city's homes. Would highly recommend the two hours of your time for all the valuable history Jeff informs you of.
September 2015


“A Must do!!”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff was personable and seemed very knowledgable, Tour last 2 hours and was very helpful in pointing points of interest that would be missed otherwise This is a must do while in Charleston
August 2015


“Awesome!”

5 of 5 stars
This was so worth doing! We spent the day in Charleston and the walking tour was a highlight. We did the civil war tour and it was very interesting and informative...fun too. It was wicked hot and we had little kids but they actually didn't get tired or complain. They were really engaged. Guide was very knowledgable. Went a a good pace for us...we didn't have to catch up or move ahead due to boredom. Just right. Check for a Groupon. We used it right on the phone.
August 2015


“Excellent Walking Tour for History Buffs”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff was outstanding as a tour guide. Lifelong resident who really knew his stuff and enjoyed sharing with our group. The best part was that he was open to answer questions off the top of his head. He knew about trees as well as the history of the city. A lady not in our group stopped him and asked him about a monument that wasn't part of our tour, and Jeff gladly answered her question and told us all a little about the history behind it. He even stopped to ask a worker at a house being renovated about its history - so he could learn more about it. Wow! a teacher who's teachable. Very friendly, too. When a lady couldn't find her tour guide for a different tour, Jeff offered to let her join ours for the same low rate that we were using. Just a quality experience overall.
August 2015


“Great Evening Tour”

5 of 5 stars
My wife and I had the pleasure of taking the evening candlelight (lantern) tour of Charleston with Jeff. He is very knowledgeable about the history and architecture of the city he obviously loves very much. We would highly recommend this tour,
August 2015


“Great way to start our vacation”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff's tour is awesome. He takes you through most of the major points of downtown and tells the history and stories surrounding it all. This was the first thing we did during a week stay and it helped knock out many of the touristy sites, as well as providing info on the city and the sites that go beyond what you could find in just reading a brochure or travel guide. It also let you experience the city and streets more than one of the carriage tours likely would have. I'd highly recommend for any type of traveler that wants to see Charleston and get a good feel for the city.
August 2015


“Pleasant and informative”

5 of 5 stars
Lots of interesting sights and info. It's always good to get a refresher on the events surrounding Maj Anderson and Fort Sumter. Plus we liked the fact that our guide stayed in the shade whenever possible.
July 2015


“Must do”

5 of 5 stars
very informative and a great way to get a feel for the history of the city as well as the lay out of the streets. i suggest you take the tour on one of the first days in town and it will make it easy to navigate for the rest of the stay. Jeff was a wonderful host and full of interesting information.
July 2015


“Great city tour!”

5 of 5 stars
Wonderful tour of charleston. Jeff is a wealth of knowledge ... We learned about the city's rich history and architecture. Can't miss this tour!!!
July 2015


“Tantalizing view of Charleston with an insider's view”

5 of 5 stars
A great two hour tour covering historical anecdotes, traditions, architecture plant and animal life. Our tour group included my husband and I and a grandchild in a stroller, another couple and 3 sisters. I t was a nice intimate group and the guide adjusted his pace for the group. It was easy to hear everything he said and he answered questions. Obviously loves the city which gave an extra depth to the tour. Highly recommend as you get into some areas not accessible by car or carriage.
July 2015


“Jeff does an excellent job! Varied and Interesting tour! Recommended!”

5 of 5 stars
Sister vacay to Charleston, southern girls from New Orleans, visiting another wonderful southern city. Jeff is wonderful, 8 generation Charleston descendant, Jeff offered us a well paced, 2 hour, interesting, diverse tour with historical and modern views on Charleston, history, architecture, civil war, complete with dates and other historical details. I personally loved the information about local plant varieties and taking pics of all the window planters. There were 8 in our tour including a stroller toddler who was the best child! Concern for his walking tour groups includes pauses for brief rest, shade, restrooms, water and answering questions. We covered a lot of ground and were supremely happy with our choice and Jeff himself, what a nice guy! Best wishes to Jeff and we enjoyed our drink on Market Pavilion Rooftop! Thanks!
July 2015


“The best”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff I believe is the best tour guide in Charleston. He is so good at what he does. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour. I love how he is a one man show. He is the one you book with, answers the phone and gives the tour. We were at the wrong fountain for meeting place and he called me on my cell phone. I recommend his tour to anyone heading to Charleston.
June 2015


“Awesome Tour!! ”

5 of 5 stars
I would highly recommend this tour! Jeff was a very informative and entertaining tour guide. He told us many stories of Charleston and was very informed on the history and architecture! We were only in Charleston for a couple of days and Jeff was kind enough to give us a tour last minute. He also recommended many great places for us to tour later in the day and gave us good lunch recommendations.
June 2015


“Great walking tour for first timer in Charleston”

5 of 5 stars
I brought my family of 2 young children and we came all the way down from Myrtle Beach. Since we were coming from 2 hours away, we were running a few minutes late for a morning tour. Jeff was very courteous and called us to check up on us. We told him we were running a little late and he told us exactly where to meet him and the rest of the tour group. As for the tour, it was great and I highly recommend Jeff.
June 2015


“Charleston in a Nutshell”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff is a wonderful narrator and historian of Charleston, SC. Born and raised in Charleston, he has a very informed history of the area. He is excited to share all his knowledge of the area with you in an interesting way. You won't be bored, but instead in awed and thrilled with all that Charleston has to offer.
June 2015


“This is a GREAT walking tour!”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff, the tour guide, knows so much about the history of Charleston. I am a History teacher and I learned SO much. My young children loved the tour EVEN in the scorching heat. Jeff made sure we had plenty of shade and was well aware when we needed an air conditioning break. :) If you love American Revolution and Civil War history this is the tour for you! He also goes into personal stories of Charleston's former residents. I highly recommend! Go get the groupon!!!
June 2015


“Highly recommend this tour”

5 of 5 stars
We went on Jeff's tour our first day in Charleston and it gave us a great overview of the historic city. He is very knowledgeable and points out neat details along the way. All in our party named this tour as one of the highlights of the trip!
June 2015


“Fantastic historic visit!”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff does such a great job describing the buildings and layout of Historic Charleston. He has a passion for his job and is very informative. He got to know us and was able to keep us moving but never at a rate that this 50+ person could not handle. I highly recommend his tours for a more personalized tour and one that takes time to view nature and the beautiful gardens.
June 2015


“Well worth the time and money”

5 of 5 stars
Perhaps one of the most informative as well as educational walking tours we've enjoyed. Jeff was great with the detail and pointing out the unusual from architecture to historical. He's been doing this since 1997 and is a native of Charleston. The two hours flew by.
June 2015


“Clouds lifted for a beautiful afternoon!”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff postponed our AM tour until the afternoon when it was raining and storming all morning. He predicted well and led my husband and I with another couple on a beautiful afternoon exploration. He has an amazing knowledge of the history and settings where he led us. It was an informative and enjoyable afternoon!
June 2015


“Best city walking tour guide”

5 of 5 stars
We wanted a good walking tour of the historic buildings in Charleston and we lucked into Jeff of Charleston in a Nutshell. Jeff is a native and his knowledge of the city must be among the best. We passed many other walking groups but none the guides with those groups seemed to have his depth of knowledge and the ability to tell you about it succinctly but completely.
May 2015


“Great tour by a passionate history buff tour guide”

5 of 5 stars
This was a twilight tour by Jeff who owns the company "Charleston in a Nutshell". When the owner himself gives the tour, you know you will be getting a good one, and I was right. Jeff knows all the intricate details about Charleston's past and present, will show you both the highlights and the "off the beaten path" sights. He answers all questions with knowledge and insight. He just loves to talk about Charleston.
April 2015


“Knowledgeable and Personable Tour”

5 of 5 stars
We took this tour with Jeff Zimmerman in January, but I was late in reviewing it. This was a great tour. Jeff was able to answer all of our questions and even was a help to other tourists and locals. The tour revolved around Charleston's Civil War history, but we also learned about the architecture and famous residents. Jeff had pictures that helped illustrate his talk. This tour is highly recommended.
January 2015


“Twilight Tour”

5 of 5 stars
The timing of this tour is perfect washing the historic area in an amber glow. Jeff is incredibly knowledgeable in both the history and architecture of this beautiful city. I'm not a huge fan of tours but Jeff's tour made Charleston's history come to life.
Reviewed May 24, 2015


“Guide couldn't have been better”

5 of 5 stars
My husband, myself, and my baby were Jeff's entire group for a history by candlelight tour. He rolled out the red carpet for us anyhow. Starting at the picturesque Watergate Park, he gave us a wonderful foundation by laying out the earliest beginnings of "Charles Town". We strolled along cobblestone streets, past gas lit lanterns and centuries old architecture, as Jeff told us wonderful stories about the history of the Holy City. We wound our way past historical landmarks, nationally renowned restaurants, and architectural wonders; Jeff missed no opportunity to point out any detail that had a story to tell. And what is a magical city, but its stories? I promise you will get exponentially more enjoyment out of your stay in Charleston after hearing Jeff's experienced recommendations, rich storytelling, and obvious pride in his hometown, this beloved Charleston. (Also Groupon frequently offers deals for tickets to Charleston in a Nutshell).
May 2015


“great historic tour”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff did a great job showing us the historic area of Charleston, easy walk, lots of information. He had great stories about the buildings. would recommend to anyone coming to Charleston, gives you a real flavor of old Charleston.
April 2015


“Great walking tour!”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff did a great job being informative and entertaining at the same time. It was neat to see pictures of what the buildings looked like during the civil war era while standing in front of the same buildings and realizing how often they looked the same. He shared interesting insights about the civil war and the key players. Wonderful tour that I would definitely take again!
April 2015


“Great Historic Tour”

5 of 5 stars
Wow! So much great information! Jeff knows a bit about everything in Charleston. Great personality, very willing to provide extra information and to address questions.
Do not pass up this tour.
May 2015


“Informative and interesting”

4 of 5 stars
Bought tickets with a group on and called tour. Jeff, the tour guide, returns phone calls promptly and readily answers all questions, adding beneficial advice to make a good choice regarding type of tour. My friends and I picked the morning walking History of Charleston tour which lasted 2 hours. Jeff presented tons of information and took us on a walking tour that include the French Quarter, homes, gardens, info on architecture, historical events and figures, as well as the Battery. Time went by quickly. Jeff projects his voice and is easily understood. He is very straight forward and thorough in his presentation. Would recommend.
April 2015


“great use of 2 hours”

5 of 5 stars
nicely prepared! good pace for all ages (best for 18 to 60 crowd)! really fine overview of Charleston and downtown features! evening or days show mix of history - charm - and restaurants! Excellent way to Start your vacation so as to get a grip of what the city has to offer. Jeff is resource for other events and points to best use of vacation time.
April 2015


“Weekend getaway”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff is very knowledgeable of local history and did a good job with our group. It was a fun and even paced tour. We'll be looking into his other tours next time we're in town.
April 2015


“Outstanding Tour of Charleston”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff is an 8th generation Carolinian who has incredible knowledge of the history and culture of the Charleston area and the Civil War. We took both the morning tour and the Civil War tour. On the latter he shows historical photographs to help visualize places on the tour. We enjoyed his engaging narrative style as well as some humorous anecdotes. We walked through much of the historic areas of the lower peninsula and there was only a little overlap between the tours. Jeff is friendly and enthusiastic, and I would highly recommend his tours.
March 2015


“Walking thru History”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff led a small group of eager travelers thru the streets and thru time. His strong voice ,knowledge of Charleston, and his ability to answer questions made this walking tour a delight.
March 2015


“Charleston History”

5 of 5 stars
We recently moved to the Charleston area and had our first house guests. This walking tour was a great way to learn about the history of this fascinating city. We were lucky to have a very small group for our tour so it was easy to hear Jeff and ask questions.
March 2015


“Great Experience!”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff was a professional guide who made the city come alive. We covered a lot of the city and definitely got our value out of the tour. I would higly recommend this company again.
March 2015


“Thoroughly enjoyed the beauty of Charleston!”

5 of 5 stars
The tour was very interesting and informative. Jeff was very knowledgeable on the history of the area, and it helps that he has a loud clear voice so the people lagging behind can hear. The mansions and the history of the homes is really amazing. I would definitely recommend it, especially if you need a good walk to work off...
March 2015


“Informative and fun”

5 of 5 stars
We really enjoyed our tour with Jeff. He is very professional and knowledgeable. The tour was well thought out, tracing a path that showcased Charleston's history. We walked through some alleyways that were just lovely and where Jeff pointed out some of the plants that are present in the area. Highly recommend.
February 2015


“Very informative and personable guide”

5 of 5 stars
We took the civil war tour through Charleston and really enjoyed Jeff's narrative and how he engaged with us. He shows historical photographs during the tour that correspond with where you're standing, which is a really nice addition to the tour. We walked through a lot of the historic district and got to see many of the landmarks and places where history really took shape. We bought this tour through Groupon and it was a great deal.
February 2015


“Great Fun!”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff's knowledge and enthusiasm for all things Charleston makes this walking tour a must! Great fun!
December 2014


“Worthwhile!”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff is a great, friendly, knowledgeable, charismatic gentleman whom understands local Charleston history and culture. His tour was both interesting and thought-provoking. I've lived here 7+ years and I learned several new things. I highly recommend his tour.
November 2014


“Outstanding Review of Charleston”

5 of 5 stars
This walking tour of historic Charleston far exceeded our expectations. We learned so much about the Charleston history, and the architecture of the area. Additionally,we really enjoyed the insights into the flora and fauna.
December 2014


“Fun and informative!”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff was a great tour guide. Whether you want to learn about the history, the architecture or the wildlife, you'll find something to love about this tour.
November 2014


“Charleston in a nutshell tours”

4 of 5 stars
Good tour. Jeff is knowledgeable , professional, & friendly. He knows his stuff, not just the houses & history but the different plants too. Worth checking out.
November 2014


“Charleston in a Nutshell Walking Tour”

5 of 5 stars
Great tour! Very informative - I learned lots of interesting history of Charleston. Jeff made it very interesting and took us through nooks and crannies downtown that I wouldn't have known existed had I not taken the tour.
November 2014


“Charleston in a Nutshell”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff was great. I have done a number of Charleston tours and he provided information that I haven't heard yet. He was able to speak to all people in group at their interest level. I would definitely do another walking tour with him. Saw hidden treasures that you don't see on other tours.
November 2014


“October 18-2014 Charleston In a Nutshell Walking Tour”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff was professional and always making sure you could hear him and see. He really knows his stuff. Put on your walking shoes as you will see a lot (parks, cemeteries, neighborhoods, etc). Bring your camera for sure, as it takes a lot to try to remember it all. Fact filled tour.
October 2014


“Charleston in a Nutshell tour”

5 of 5 stars
I enjoyed a detailed & interesting free tour by Jeff Zimmerman! I hope to do another tour in the future.
October 2014


“Charleston in a Nutshell”

5 of 5 stars
The walking tour was packed full of facts and history of Charelston! We saw incredible architecture, garden and took a walk in the park and along the water, battery. I loved the fact that we could take lots of close up photos while walking. The tour was at a good pace. It kept my interest the whole time. I am not a history buff, but the desire to learn more was ignited as the tour guide led the tour with passion for what it seems, he loves to do.. He also had many photos/drawings he showed of what areas looked like before the battles. And how it has changed, and stayed the same. I would highly recommend Charleston in a Nutshell.
October 2014


“a walking tour worth 3x the cost”

5 of 5 stars
This walking tour was delightful. The right speed and well coached. Nice selection of Charleston history. Great view and explanation of Charleston's building charm. Good for all ages but best for young adults on up to "young-at-heart seniors"
October 2014


“Wonderful Tour!”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff is an excellent guide. He knows an incredible amount of Charleston's history, architecture and even local plants. He has a very entertaining and engaging style and we learned several new things about Charleston's history. We live here and have taken several historical tours. We'll be calling on Jeff when we have visitors as his was our favorite so far.
October 2014


“Fantastic Civil War tour”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff was a outstanding tour guide. This was the best walking tour of Charleston we have taken. We had a group of six ages 13 to 84 and all we equally entertained and informed. The tour covered history, then and now pics, architecture, botany was beyond what we expected. I would highly recommend Jeff and his company
August 2014


“Jeff is great! Tours are educational and fun.”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff is a very passionate and knowledgable about Charleston. He really wants you to have a good time on one of his trips and will go to great length to ensure that you do. His knowledge of history, architecture and botany is extensive so you are in very capable hands should you choose to take a tour with him. We did the drive around Charleston and Magnolia plantation and wish we could do some more!
May 30, 2014


“Civil Walking Tour was fantastic!”

5 of 5 stars
I took the Civil War Walking Tour of Charleston with Jeff Zimmerman yesterday (April 7, 2014). It was a wonderful trip! Jeff is a very knowledgeable and insightful guide who clearly loves his city and it's history, covering a wide swatch of the downtown area. His photographs bring the stories to life by showing how the spot you are standing on looked 150 years ago. Totally recommended to anyone with an interest in the history of Charleston and/or the Civil War.
April 2014


“Great tour of Charleston!”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff is a great tour guide. He is extremely knowledgeable about the history, architecture and current culture of Charleston. Also has a great sense of humor. We are looking forward to our next trip to Charleston to do another tour with him.
March 2014


“walking tour of historic Charleston SC”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff of Charleston in a Nutshell gave us a fantastic walking tour! He is so knowledgeable and passionate about Charleston, the history and the architecture! We have been to Charleston many times but we learned a lot from Jeff. He can adapt a tour to your specific interests. You can't get closer to history than walking in front of the homes or going into the church with Jeff telling you the history. We enjoyed every minute. The walking is well paced and the time flew by! I highly recommend this especially to those who think they have been to Charleston too often to try it!
December 2013


“Charleston in a Nutshell”

5 of 5 stars
Charleston in a Nutshell historic private walking tour with Jeff was by far the most enjoyable sightseeing experience we have ever had. We had a relaxed two-hour walk, but every moment was filled with information that left us feeling that we had a great feel for the history of the city as well as its personality today. I would highly recommend Jeff's tours to anyone visiting Charleston!
December 2013


“Charleston in a Nutshell”

5 of 5 stars
Charleston in a Nutshell with Jeff was outstanding! We did it on our first evening in Charleston. It set the stage for the rest of our stay. Informative, intertaining, and educational. The guide did a fantastic job of relaying the history and importance of Chaleston. Great way to start our stay. Highly recommended.
June 2013


“Immensely informed and interesting guide”

5 of 5 stars
We enjoyed a Civil War tour with Jeff last weekend. He combines an intriguing historical dialogue with archival pictures. He welcomes questions and has many amusing anecdotes about the times and the people. The price is beyond reasonable for the service,
June 2013


“Jeff Zimmerman is an excellent guide to historic Charleston, SC”

5 of 5 stars
Jeff is a very knowledgeable and personable guide to historic Charleston. We would highly recommend him to anyone interested in learning more about this amazing city.
April 2013


“Jeff is the real deal!”

5 of 5 stars
Touring with a 7th generation Carolinian was an exceptional experience. Jeff seemed to have just the right mix of social and architectural history for our group of four. He was receptive to questions and in his answers revealed the depth of his knowledge and enthusiasm for his city. We came away informed and eager to explore more. And he is just a really pleasant person, too.
Irene from Dallas, Texas
January 2013


“You should go.”

5 of 5 stars
We took Jeff's walking tour and we learned a great deal of history. Jeff knows his history with
added interesting details. He is knowledgeable and very enthusiastic. It was more difficult
keeping with his information on Charleston's start of the civil war than his walking pace. He is
an excellent teacher. You should go. We will go again and choose one of Jeff's tours.
May 2012


“Fantastic Tour”

5 of 5 stars
I had my Aunt and Uncle in town for the day today and was going to show them around Charleston myself since I've lived here for 16yrs and know a good bit about the history already. But, I didn't want to disappoint them so I googled Charleston history in a nutshell expecting to find something that I could print out and use as a reference. Yet to my surprise it led me to Jeff Zimmerman and his walking tour. I called him and set up a tour for 1pm half expecting there to be 10 or 15 other people in our group, but there wasn't. It was just him and us on our own little private tour for almost 2hrs meandering throughout the beautiful streets of charleston mostly south of Broad St. Jeff was very informative and insightful, especially when it came to architecture and botany. I highly recommend Jeff and one of his tours.
March 22, 2012


“Nice tour”

4 of 5 stars
Very nice tour of city. Only question accuracy after stating the person who designed a house also design the white house and loved oval shaped rooms that is why there is an oval office. That is bad history. Makes you wonder about rest. But very pleasant and fun.
February 11, 2012


“Jeff is Great! Tours are Educational and Fun.”

Jeff is a very passionate and knowledgeable about Charleston. He really wants you to have a good time on one of his trips and will go to great length to ensure that you do. His knowledge of history, architecture and botany is extensive so you are in very capable hands should you choose to take a tour with him. We did the drive around Charleston and Magnolia plantation and wish we could do some more!
May 2014


“Civil Walking Tour was Fantastic!”

I took the Civil War Walking Tour of Charleston with Jeff Zimmerman yesterday (April 7, 2014). It was a wonderful trip! Jeff is a very knowledgeable and insightful guide who clearly loves his city and it's history, covering a wide swatch of the downtown area. His photographs bring the stories to life by showing how the spot you are standing on looked 150 years ago. Totally recommended to anyone with an interest in the history of Charleston and/or the Civil War.
April 2014


“Great Tour of Charleston!”

Jeff is a great tour guide. He is extremely knowledgeable about the history, architecture and current culture of Charleston. Also has a great sense of humor. We are looking forward to our next trip to Charleston to do another tour with him.
March 2014


“Walking Tour of Historic Charleston SC”

Jeff of Charleston in a Nutshell gave us a fantastic walking tour! He is so knowledgeable and passionate about Charleston, the history and the architecture! We have been to Charleston many times but we learned a lot from Jeff. He can adapt a tour to your specific interests. You can't get closer to history than walking in front of the homes or going into the church with Jeff telling you the history. We enjoyed every minute. The walking is well paced and the time flew by! I highly recommend this especially to those who think they have been to Charleston too often to try it!
January 2014


“Charleston in a Nutshell”

Charleston in a Nutshell historic private walking tour with Jeff was by far the most enjoyable sightseeing experience we have ever had. We had a relaxed two-hour walk, but every moment was filled with information that left us feeling that we had a great feel for the history of the city as well as its personality today. I would highly recommend Jeff's tours to anyone visiting Charleston!
December 2013


“Charleston in a Nutshell”

Charleston in a Nutshell with Jeff was outstanding! We did it on our first evening in Charleston. It set the stage for the rest of our stay. Informative, entertaining, and educational. The guide did a fantastic job of relaying the history and importance of Charleston. Great way to start our stay. Highly recommended.
July 2013


“Immensely Informed and Interesting Guide”

We enjoyed a Civil War tour with Jeff last weekend. He combines an intriguing historical dialogue with archival pictures. He welcomes questions and has many amusing anecdotes about the times and the people. The price is beyond reasonable for the service.
June 2013


“Jeff Zimmerman is an Excellent Guide to Historic Charleston, SC”

Jeff is a very knowledgeable and personable guide to historic Charleston. We would highly recommend him to anyone interested in learning more about this amazing city.
April 2013


“Jeff is the Real Deal!”

Touring with a 7th generation Carolinian was an exceptional experience. Jeff seemed to have just the right mix of social and architectural history for our group of four. He was receptive to questions and in his answers revealed the depth of his knowledge and enthusiasm for his city. We came away informed and eager to explore more. And he is just a really pleasant person, too.
Irene from Dallas, Texas.
January 2013


“You Should Go”

We took Jeff's walking tour and we learned a great deal of history. Jeff knows his history with added interesting details. He is knowledgeable and very enthusiastic. It was more difficult keeping with his information on Charleston's start of the civil war than his walking pace. He is an excellent teacher. You should go. We will go again and choose one of Jeff's tours.
May 2012


“Fantastic Tour”

I had my Aunt and Uncle in town for the day today and was going to show them around Charleston myself since I've lived here for 16 yrs and know a good bit about the history already. But, I didn't want to disappoint them so I Googled Charleston history in a nutshell expecting to find something that I could print out and use as a reference. Yet to my surprise it led me to Jeff Zimmerman and his walking tour. I called him and set up a tour for 1 pm half expecting there to be 10 or 15 other people in our group, but there wasn't. It was just him and us on our own little private tour for almost 2 hrs meandering throughout the beautiful streets of Charleston mostly south of Broad St. Jeff was very informative and insightful, especially when it came to architecture and botany. I highly recommend Jeff and one of his tours.
March 2012


Powered by Face Websites